Troisdorf has twelve vibrant districts!

Logo of Troisdorf: twelve dots which symbolise the twelve districts enlarge picture

A landmark date in the history of our town was 1 August 1969. This was when the present-day city of Troisdorf was created.

Local government reorganisation

The process of local government reorganisation in our region combined some towns and municipalities.

The old city of Troisdorf, which received its town charter in 1952, and the municipality of Sieglar together with the localities of Altenrath and Friedrich-Wilhelms-Hütte gave rise to the biggest city in the Rhein-Sieg district, which was duly given the name Troisdorf.

Other districts

Over 50,000 people lived in its ten localities at the time. The city council passed a resolution in 1999 to add the districts of West (formerly parts of Troisdorf and Oberlar) and Rotter See (formerly part of Sieglar). For further information, visit the site of our twelve districts (only in German available).

Further Information